The Daptone Super Soul Revue European Summer Tour

The renaissance of soul music in recent years has been fueled and ignited by a musical energy that has exploded out of a tightly knit family of musicians in Brooklyn, New York. In their many incarnations, these individuals help to create the dynamic roster of indie phenomenon Daptone Records. Though each artist has toured internationally and all have earned reputations for incendiary live shows, up until now, the legendary Daptone Super Soul Revue in its full splendor has been an experience rarely seen outside of New York City.

Now, for the first time, this stellar group of artists has gathered en masse and mounted busses to bring this dynamic show on the road. This is not your average label showcase. Soul powerhouses Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings and Charles Bradley join forces with the afrobeat juggernaut Antibalas for a non-stop extravaganza featuring Master of Ceremonies Binky Griptite and special performances by the Sugarman 3 and Saun & Starr.

Inspired by the high-energy Stax, Motown, and James Brown revues of the past, and presided over by the true standard bearers of today’s soul music, the Daptone Soul Revue is the show that can’t be missed. This is Soul Excitement!

JUNE 27 - London, UK @ Shepherd’s Bush Empire
JULY 1 - Vienna, Austria Jazz @ Fest Wein Tickets
JULY 3 -  Werchter, Belgium @ Rock Werchter SOLD OUT
JULY 5 - Vienne, France @ Jazz à Vienne Tickets
JULY 6 - Kent, UK @ Hop Farm Festival Tickets
JULY 11 - Perugia, Italy @ Umbria Jazz Festival Tickets
JULY 13 - Rotterdam, Holland @ North Sea Jazz Festival Tickets

And more dates to be announced soon!

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, Charles Bradley Releases On Record Store Day 2014

Record Store Day 2014 is just under a month away (April 19th) and we are excited to announce TWO releases this year!

Screen Shot 2014-03-21 at 5.05.41 PM

Charles Bradley will release a new, four-song 12-inch titled I Hope You (Find The Good Life). The record was produced by Mr. Tom Brenneck and features the Menahan Street Band and the Sha La Das backing up The Screaming Eagle Of Soul. It’s limited to 2000 copies only!



1. “I Hope You Find (The Good Life)”
2. “I Hope You Find (The Good Life) (instrumental)”

1. “Electric Victim of Love”
2. “Electric Victim of Love (Instrumental)”

Screen Shot 2014-03-21 at 5.05.57 PM

Finally, after many years of being out-of-print and sought after by vinyl fiends across the globe, Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings‘ debut full-length Dap-Dippin‘ will be reissued starting on RSD. The record is remastered from the original tapes and features a previously unreleased song, “Will You Be True?” featuring Lee Fields. This RSD edition will be on blue vinyl and also limited to 2,000 copies.

1. (Introduction)
2. Got A Thing On My Mind
3. What Have You Done For Me Lately?
4. The Dap Dip
5. Give Me A Chance
6. Cut The Line
7. Got To Be The Way It Is
8. Make It Good To Me
9. Ain’t It Hard
10. Pick It Up, Lay It In The Cut
11. Casella Walk
12. Will You Be True? (feat. Lee Fields) previously unreleased

Support your local, independent record store on April 19!

Charles Bradley Covers Black Sabbath’s “Changes”

Did you pick up Charles Bradley’s Record Store Day Black Friday 45? Well, fear not if you didn’t (or celebrate if you did!) because you can stream CB’s cover of “Changes” on our Soundcloud and Youtube.

Victim of Love, the 65-year old Screaming Eagle of Soul’s triumphant second album–has received overwhelming praise since it’s release this spring, most recently being names to the “Best of” lists by SPIN, MOJO, Paste, BuzzFeed, Rough Trade& more. The album’s title track was also named to Rolling Stone’s “Best Songs of 2013.”

Charles will be celebrating his big year and celebrating the arrival of 2014 with a New Years Eve show at Pittsburgh, PA’s Highmark’s First Night. Get your tickets.

Charles Bradley / Budos Band Record Store Day (Black Friday) 7-inch

We are excited to announce that Charles Bradley and The Budos Band will be joining up for a new 7-inch for Record Store Day (Black Friday). Click the link for all the details. 



New Charles Bradley 45

Two of the heaviest cuts from the latest album, Victim of Love, “Confusion” and “Where Do We Go From Here” are now available on 45! Get it at the Daptone Shop.

“Charles Bradley: Soul of America” DVD

Charles Bradley: Soul of America” takes you behind the scenes in the months leading up to the release of his debut album “No Time for Dreaming.” Order the DVD (region 1) at the Daptone Shop.

Charles Bradley on Tour!

Charles Bradley is currently on the road and coming to a city near you. Check the events page for all upcoming shows in the US and Europe.

Charles Bradley “Strictly Reserved for You” Music Video

Watch the official music video for “Strictly Reserved for You,” directed by Homer Steinweiss (Dunham Records, Menahan Street Band).

Charles Bradley “Victim of Love”

Victim of Love is out NOW! Order your copy at the Daptone Super Soul Super Store! LP Bundles with new Charles Bradley Slipmats available!